Sunday, March 15, 2026

Content Drought: Perfect (Not) Prerelease

Hi everyone I didn't play any locals this week BUT I did go to a Perfect Order prerelease yesterday and more than one person asked me to write a tournament report so here I am.

I arrive at my favorite store GG around 10:50 and chat with my locals a bit before the event. I'm amazed at the amount of people that are legitimately metagaming the precon decks and talking about how badly they need Pokepads. Is it that serious? I also swap a medium size box of loose packs I've won from tournaments over the past year for a couple 2010 cards I need for my second(!) copy of LuxChomp. First win of the day :)

Me and the 12 other Barbaracle fans (from the Poll) : r/pokemon 

Kits are passed out and opened. I get Barbaracle but open pretty much nothing relevant from my packs so I guess I'm playing the precon! I look at the Hawlucha for a few seconds, decide it's pretty bad, check the trainer cards I got out of my packs, think Lumiose City is fine enough, then put my 40 cards in some terrible etb sleeves and sit there giving my friends bad deckbuilding advice for the remaining 20 minutes.


It was honestly more effort than I thought it would be to make this decklist because I couldn't paste from anywhere. I'm not doing sprites because that sounds similarly annoying.

R1 Barbaracle W

I lose the flip and go second. My opponent flips over a Landorus which I think is probably the best starter in the Barbaracle deck even though Binacle's double draw attack isn't bad either. He attaches active and puts down a Binacle then passes over to me. I have a Hilda and a Lillie, but enough search in hand to get down my own Binacle and Landorus to back up my active Binacle so I play the Hilda to get a Barbaracle for next turn and pull out one of these Rocky energies. I attach active and use Double Draw. This is apparently a mistake because my opponent attaches to his active again and then plays a PPP to knock out my Binacle, taking the attachment with it. I push my own Landorus, attach to it + Barbaracle accel to it, then smack him for 50 knowing I'm definitely going to die. Think I get another Binacle down and play another Hilda for a Barb and the other copy of Rocky this turn so I can attack next turn with a Barb. Another energy comes down and I get KO'd by Landorus's Screw Knuckle. I push Barbaracle, attach + accel twice to it, and KO the Landorus. From this spot I think I'm basically never supposed to win, but luckily my opponent has decided to make his deck terrible by replacing a bunch of fighting energy with dark energy and putting in a copy of Yveltal Ex as well as a 1-1 Dartrix(?) line. 3 attachments have ended up on this Dartrix but after I use Tarragon to get my guys back and power up another Landorus to KO it he literally has no more energy in his entire deck. I hit him 2 more times and win the game.

R2 Doublade L

This one is pretty boring, I play a Hilda as my first and last supporter then get hit with the sword 4 times with no hand disruption in my deck. I use Lumiose City 3 times in a row and lose the game.

R3 Doublade W

My Pokedad opponent flips over a Klefki to face off against my Binacle. I get some guys down, miss my energy attachment, and pass. He has nothing so he attaches an energy active and uses the memory lock attack to deny me double draw. I play a Lillie and get into some energy and Barbaracles and pass back. He topdecks a supporter (Lacey yuck), draws into a poffin, gets some baby swords down and memory locks my second attack. My position is really awkward because I don't want to commit a bunch of energy to Barb, die to sword attack, and be unable to answer a Doublade with Landorus, but I don't really have anything else to do so I take the knockout on Klefki. On his turn he somehow Lillies into not enough guys to knock me out, so I get to hit his active for free, then clean it up the next turn with PPP even after it evolves into Aegislash with the help of Gravity Mountain. He does respond with a Doublade but I just power up another Landorus and finish the game.

After the game he asks me some questions about competing and I do my best to explain how stuff works even though I am a peabrain. His kids come over and ask to trade so I hand them my binder and make sure they don't scam themselves. I gather up my friends who wanted to lunch and we head toward a Chinese restaurant I like but apparently no one bothered to check their times so we arrive at a closed storefront. Luckily there's a good Mexican place across the street so I go there and happily scarf down a burrito. Spicy Chinese food another time. Thanks for reading if you made it this far! Remembering and writing about games I didn't really care about was kind of hard so I appreciate the support. 

Saturday, March 7, 2026

Froslass IRL: Spikemuth


Me playing Grimmsnarl after the unkind words I've said about this deck

I wake up like 10 minutes before I leave (which was a great pumpfake by Google Maps btw, the train dumps me at this shop 30m before start time) and check on the Gardy deck I thought I was going to play. Luckily for me the sleeves are getting a bit worn and I don't want to try and speedrun a resleeve so I grab my somehow still sleeved Grimmsnarl deck, update it to what my friend Yihao played at Seattle, and bring that.


 
Never used bundle, eswitch would've been nice. Flap has a new list I would've played if I had pads. 

Round 1 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/dragapult.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/dusknoir.png

Pultnoir W
My opponent flips over Bloodmoon and doesn't get out of it. I set up double Grimm double Munki with a Froslass and run him over. Round 1 issues in the rearview, maybe?

Round 2
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/joltik.pngiron-thorns
Joltik Heracross Thorns? W - I literally could not find an icon for Heracross on Limitless
My opponent doesn't play a supporter, then jolting charges to a Mega Heracross? I have to read this thing. If I take a KO then I die to grass weakness nice and it also mills cards if I let it swing freely. I feed him a Munki then promote my Imp. I'm holding Lillie + Candy with a live Spikemuth, and I really really really want to candy Grimm + evolve Morgrem, but I miss Morgrem off the Lillie, probably not that likely to hit but I'm bit scared of my Grimm dying then missing an attack the next turn. I punch the Heracross + take out the Joltik since I'm pretty sure there's a Galvantula in there somewhere. My opponent is apparently super scared of the potential of a second candy, because he hard switches (lol) his Heracross into an Iron Thorns and passes back to me. I take advantage of his kindness by evolving into Morgrem on the bench and evolving some Froslasses to make a huge turn on my next Grimm attack. Shadow Bullet into Thorns + 30 to a random Electrike on the bench I'm pretty sure is never going to matter. The next turn I get knocked out by Iron Leaves, but since I have a Morgrem on the bench and 2 Froslasses I get the 4 prizes off Thorns and the Leaves at the same time. Heracross comes back in the active, KOs my Grimm, and I Bloodmoon him for game. Also could have just pinged down the Electrike.

Round 3
lucario-megahariyama
 
Lucario W
Even though I start Imp + Spikemuth Imp pass, my opponent is doing nothing, so I candy into Grimm and boss his lone Riolu. I take another KO on a Lunatone, then he finally evolves into Lucario and hits me with Max Belted Aura Jab for 180. I move some damage over to his side and punch the Lucario + evolve my benched Imp into Morgrem, but for some reason my Secret Box stadium grab is not Spikemuth because I'm worried about my opponent topdecking Iono? He topdecks a Lillie, draws 8, then Lunatone draws into a stadium and KOs my active Grimm. Disaster! Luckily I can just go back to my single prizers and Budew him for a few turns and spread until I can get a Morgrem to stick after a few Hariyama triggers, then take my last four with a new Grimmsnarl on the damaged Lucario and the Lunatone I've been pinging.

Round 4 (Pidgeot Control) ID
I pair Sky on a Pidgeot list I gave her and tell her I am going to put 5 energies on my Grimmsnarl while we wait for match slips, then I circle tie and we watch the other games.

Round 5 ID
My opponent is scared about the ID for some reason but once I explain to her I'm 3-0-1 and she should be safe at 3-1-1 she takes the tie. Not really sure what was going on there but I manage to get Grimmsnarl into cut. 

Top 8
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/joltik.png 
Jengo LL
I pair the only matchup in the entire bracket I don't really want to see, since it has this really annoying Iron Hands card and an even more annoying Galvantula card. Obviously since I've been drawing acceptably all day it is time to brick. My first hand is actually not that bad, with Spikemuth, Boss Candy but what it's missing is a second supporter to do anything after. The Iron Hands gets charged up and I get to boss + punch it + knockout the benched Joltik with candy Grimm, but I've also prized my other 2 Imps so I have literally no way to do anything after this. Hands comes in the active and takes 2 on my benched Munkidori with a counter catcher (annoying) but this turns on my CC so I try to check him on a switch effect and stack 30 more on the Hands bringing it up to 210. I should mention that this entire time I've been Artazoning for a new little guy (Snorunt, Munkidori) every single turn but I have yet to draw anything useful from my deck. If a Froslass had gone up at any point during this sequence I can definitely win the game but instead my Grimm goes down to hard switch (lol) Dengo, I shove Tatsu, finally find an Iono and Budew, but a boss on one of my bench sitters breaks the item lock and I lose the game.

I go second again and bench all the basics I want, Imp Imp Munki Munki Snorunt Snorunt but play zero supporters for 3 turns, then finally topdeck secret box which is actually really annoying because I have been putting Grimm pieces in my hand while I'm doing nothing so now I have to feed them all to the box. Box for stretcher (since I prized a Grimm and discard the one in my hand) Iono Artazon Air Balloon and Artazon? My board actually becomes quite good once I get into double Froslass double Munki and start shredding his board but the Galvantula comes out and gets my Grimm, then I have to Bloodmoon the Hands and lose to Dengo since I had to box earlier and my Arven cannot get Box for Iono. Pokemon Trading Card Game.

Grimm is mid but I liked playing it a lot better than the last time I did. I think if I had drawn slightly better and gotten through this Jengo the rest of the bracket looked pretty good but c'est la vie. This one feels like not really my fault idk.

Friday, March 6, 2026

outrageous @ seattle

Here's a tournament report from my friend/local Keva, enjoy! 


Hi all! Not really planning on keeping a regular blog so thanks to molerator for letting me guest post, but I had a fun time in Seattle and went on a pretty good run, so I wanted to write a bit of a recap for my own purposes. I went 8-3-3 for 148th place (top 256), which is my best finish out of the three majors I’ve attended this season (and ever), so overall I feel pretty happy about that. There is a bit of disappointment though after getting off to a 6-1-2 start, but losing 2 out of my last 3 games definitely took some of the steam out of my run.

Tournament Prep:

Going into Seattle, I was feeling a bit under-practiced because of Live’s early rotation to Ascended Heroes format as well as some busy-ness at work. I toyed around with the possibility of switching to Liam Halliburton’s euic 60, but after some egregious bricks at locals I remembered I disliked darmanitan and I wanted to trust myself to convert playing a more consistent 60 instead of banking on more of a high roll deck. Also, I had plenty of reps on Zoroark with Toedscruel and Lopunny for Toronto, so I leaned a bit on that experience and defaulted to 59 of that 60. I was a bit worried about Gardevoirs picking up drifloons, so I wanted my 60th card to help that match up. I thought about picnic basket, rigid band, tool scrapper, and 2nd n’s pp up, and I eventually settled on picnic basket for having a bit more utility into other close match ups (pult and grimm).


Editors Note: Did you mismatch your Zoroarks just so the decklist would be square?

R1 – Charizard/Noctowl LWW

I felt pretty good in g1, until I egregiously threw in the end. I had secret box in hand to get watchtower iono, but I also had the pieces in hand to win on board next turn. I spent some time analyzing the board state to see if my opponent could set up a checkmate, and I determined he could not. I was pretty egregiously wrong, and he set up checkmate and I scooped. G2 went pretty smoothly since I actually used my watchtower, and g3 I was definitely in the driver’s seat but time was not my friend, but somehow fate was. He was turn 2 in overtime and had 2 prizes left with no zard access on board, and I had 4 prizes left to take. There was some damage spread on his board, so I could theoretically take a 4 prize turn if he gave me more damage to work with, but he had no win condition that turn and if he passed we would certainly tie. He looks at his hand for a bit, and says “I don’t think I can win but let me just see” and plays nest ball and starts searching his deck. But his bench is full, so we call a judge over and he gets a dpl. He still plays out his turn, ended up attacking my lopunny with terapagos anyways, so I have the damage I need to use double munki switch to clean up a benched waterpon that I had previously hit with virtuous flame for my last two prizes.

R2 – Charizard/Noctowl WW

This game was not super notable; both games went pretty smoothly. I do the same thing I usually do in this match up, hit into waterpon/pagos with virtuous flame, hit into zard with virtuous flame, and eventually set up for a 2-4 prize map. Double munki eswitch out of nowhere won me g2, he was not expecting that.

R3 – N’s Zoroark/Darmanitan WW

I actually find current zoroark mirrors really interesting if they are not the exact same 60 (this will change with zekrom unfortunately). G1 we both take our time setting up, spreading energies and all that. I want him to take the initiative, so I dangle a single prizer on my bench for him to gust (forget if it was munki, buneary, or reshi). He takes the bait and benches reshiram to boss ko it, and at this point I am pretty sure he’s on Liam Halliburton’s exact euic 60 since I saw a darm and reversal hit the discard. The list plays 3 stretchers and no rods, so I bench double toedscool and reshiram, and boss ko the single reshiram in his list. I have one toedscruel in hand, and 1 in a thin-ish deck, so I feel confident even with an iono I’ll have it to evo next turn since he doesn’t have a benched darumaka to threaten ko on both toeds. He ends up bossing one toedscool and ko-ing it with a night stretchered reshiram attack, so I evolve the other one, boss reshiram, and basically restrict him to using darumaka’s flare for the rest of the game. I just need to play around black belt bloodmoon, but eventually he scoops and shows me bloodmoon prized and we go g2.

G2 was less interesting, I set up quicker and restrict him to a solo zoroark for most of the game so his draw is not strong. Eventually he goes for a last ditch play by gusting an energy-less zoroark and hitting it for 170, and then I secret box for eswitch and ko his only zoroark. This is where list knowledge came in handy, I’m not sure he knew I had eswitch in my deck. Eswitch has won me all 3 sets so far.

R4 – Charizard/Pidgeot with max belt WLL

Charizard pidgeot with max belt is a really hard matchup, but I put up a decent fight. I win g1 because he early commits max belt for his first ko, and I’m able to ko that zard and control the pace of the game from there. He wins G2, and then G3 comes down to a watchtower iono to 2 play. I felt it was a pretty decent check, because there was no fez on board and he needs both max belt and zard, so even a stadium bump would get him only one piece guaranteed with quick search. Unfortunately, his stadium bump was town store, so that got him max belt, and quick search got him night stretcher for zard.

R5 – Mega Absol Box WLW

I won G1, lost G2 because I misplayed and forgot these decks run jumbo ice cream, and G3 was unfortunate for my opponent. They claw of darkness-ed my active munkidori and took a card from my hand but forgot to take a prize.  This happens to me a lot when I play absol because the physical motion of taking a card from my opponent’s hand feels the same as taking a prize. By the time we realize, the game state is too broken (iono has been played, deck has been shuffled, etc.), and a judge issued a game loss and a warning for potential dq since this was the second time it happened to this player. I felt I was in a strong position in the game, but we were definitely running up against the clock and we had no gents in place. So got pretty lucky (again) that my opps were less locked in re: maintaining game state.

R6 – Dragapult/Charizard W

He opens hawlucha, so I think I finally hit my first pultnoir of the tournament (and I had only hit one all of my Toronto run). But then his first poffin searches out dreepy and Charmander, and I brace myself for a really long, and grindy matchup against pultzard. That hawlucha ends up being really bad for him, since after he establishes two dreepies and two charmanders and begins budew-ing me, he has bench locked himself out of Munkidori. I know a lot of pultzard lists don’t run turo, so I decide to go with that and avoid taking kos and spread a ton of damage on his board, hitting 170 into zard and pult, and munki-ing any excess damage onto the bench. He tries to tempt me into a KO by phantom diving into my zoroark, but I’m not ready to take a ko yet and turo it and continue munki-ing damage over. The next time he hits into zoro, I feel ready to powerful rage for my first two prizes, and then next turn I take a 4 prize turn with a virtuous flame and munkis to clean up a damaged hawlucha and a budew on bench.

G2 is similarly grindy, which favors me after winning G1. He again bench locks himself out of munkidori, and there’s a moment where I moved 100 dmg onto charmeleon. He evolves it into a second zard to protect it from being ko-ed but whiffs his infernal reign.  He hits into me with a burning darkness from his first zard, and I immediately boss what my friend calls a “naked charizard” and just leave it in the active while I munki damage across his board. His one air balloon was already committed to get into an early budew, so he has to slowly raw attach two luminous energy onto his zard to hard retreat it, effectively limiting any chance of munki access that game. Eventually we get to overtime turns and he scoops when he realizes there’s no way he can take all his prizes in time. He had so much damage built up on his board at this point that I was pretty confident of closing anyways.

R7 – Miraidon/Iron Hands LWT

My opponent was a really cool guy, and he starts off the conversation commenting he hasn’t really been hitting meta matchups. I laugh and assume he’s probably on a meta deck, but then he flips a magnemite. I’m feeling a bit nervous about miraidon.

G1 goes pretty much as expected – he hits electric generator, amps me very much, then cleans up with zekrom. G2 he whiffs his first generator but hits his second, but I’m able to keep a pretty thin board and use an active reshiram to evo into zoroark and lopunny. This leaves him in an awkward spot with no amp target, and he ends up arm press-ing reshiram. I establish fez and am able to ko iron hands with lopunny, and then he makes an interesting choice. He ends up using magneton to load energy onto a zekrom and then hitting an electric generator to load up miraidon. Then he prime catchers my fez, and ko’s it with miraidon. My next two prize ko will put me in zekrom range, but I look at his discard and there are 11 energies committed total (3 on zek, 3 on miraidon, and another 5 in the discard). He’s used 3 generators, so I figure an iono to 3 + cc ko on zekrom would force him to need 1) recovery for zekrom, 2) electric generator, and 3) hit electric generator with limited energy left. So that’s what I go for, and he ends up getting 1 and 2 but only getting one energy off the generator. He hits into my lopunny with miraidon, and I show him boss energy for game on squawk with spiky hopper.  He mentions that he misplayed by committing too early on the zekrom set up, and I agree. His logic was that he was worried I would ko miraidon and he wouldn’t be able to find zekrom, but in my head he can grab zekrom but not commit the magneton, which I think was the bigger issue. Nonetheless, I realize this is a terrible match up, and he realized his misplay, so I decide to offer an ID if he was interested in drawing into day 2. He unsurprisingly but graciously turned it down, and I totally get that since this is a pretty good match up for him.

We shuffle up for g3, and he looks at his hand, chuckles, and attach passes to zekrom and says “I should’ve taken the ID.” I look at my hand, which has a buddy poffin, but my only playable supporter is iono, which would refresh his clearly terrible hand. I tell him that the offer is still on the table if he wants, and he decides to take it on account of his terrible hand. Even though his start is bad, I feel like he was always one top deck away from running away with it. And considering my start was not good unless I iono’ed, it felt like I would not be able to capitalize on his poor start. Anyways, I was happy to secure day 2 one game early, and avoid a high pressure win and in situation.

R8 – Grimmsnarl/Froslass WLT

I get to the table for R8 and see a judge waiting for me, and my opponent and I were told we would be playing in the side feature stream. This was an exciting moment for me, my first time playing on any sort of stream, and especially at a regional. I asked my opponent if he had played on stream before and he said no, so I joked that we would always have this moment together. Unfortunately, the first game was not terribly interesting. He is slow to set up his froslasses, and can never really get more than one up at a time and the first one came pretty late. I got to a quick munki advantage, bossed his froslass everytime it got up, and kind of ran him over.

G2 was a lot more difficult, he was able to get froslasses up more quickly and put a lot of pressure on my board. I think I misplayed a few times here. 1) I committed my one of picnic basket a little bit early, and I think I could’ve held off for a more impactful turn. But its hard to say, and my inexperience in this match up really showed. 2) end game, I just completely misdid the math after he shadow bulleted into my zoroark. I thought if I healed 60 off the zoro, I could avoid a 3 prize turn, so I committed my turo for a double munki turn and then used powerful rage to ko the grimm, leaving me at one prize and just a boss next turn away from winning. Unfortunately, I cannot count, and he was able to double munki onto the zoro, cc my munki, and then shadow bullet for a three prize turn for game. I think turo-ing my active zoro was definitely the play, though im still unsure how I would’ve closed out from there.

R9 – Gardevoir/Drifloon WW

I hit my first garde of the event, and it’s a drifloon variant which is pretty scary for zoroark. But G1, I felt pretty in control luckily. I start reshiram and he starts frillish, and he just oceanic glooms for a while. He seems afraid to evolve into an early gardevoir to avoid giving me an early 2 prize ko, and for some reason early benches drifloon and bench locks himself out of scream tail. I feel that there is no real way for my opponent to initiate into me effectively, so I take my time under item lock to establish multiple zoros with energy, and compress my deck until I’m confident I can chain boss ko’s after I initiate. I also was able to establish toedscruel, so I knew if I could initiate with a ko onto drifloon, his access to his best attacker would be limited. So I make this plan in my head, but spend 5-6 turns just trading and passing until I felt good about my deck compression. From there, I just ko his drifloon and he responds with a scream tail ko on my toedscruel to gain stretcher access, but I’m fine with that since he’ll never win the prize trade from there since my deck is so thin and my three zoros have 5 energies, so I’m never whiffing a ko on a garde. So the game is over in 3 turns from there with consecutive boss kos.

G2 was over relatively quickly, I just kind of ran him over and he had a weak start. I still think the drifloon match up is worse than it showed in this game, but I think I learned a lot about how to control the game and take advantage of their lack of proactive plays.

--

That’s the end of Day 1 (including 1st round of phase 2), and at this point I’m feeling really good. In Toronto, I squeaked into phase 2 at 5-2-1 with a really stress relieving win in my win and in and then proceeded to lose to venusaur and end the day at 5-3-1. But now, I ended the day at 6-1-2, and I knew I had a lot of luck, but I also feel like I played some really strong games and my deck was flowing super well. And playing my first feature stream game was a lot of fun, so I ended the day super pleased. I met my friends for some good pho nearby, and then went back to my friend’s house to sleep and prep for day 2.

--

R10 – Raging Bolt LWT

First game of day 2 (second of phase 2), and I’m feeling a bit tired but ok. I look up my opponent on limitless and groan when I see raging bolt, but I unfortunately failed to click into the list. So when I win the coin flip, I pick first as I normally do against bolt to deny early owls. Unfortunately, he is not playing owls and is playing a turbo bolt variation, which very much wants to go second. He gets pretty close to pulling off a torrential pump, but misses eswitch (4 of!) off of Lillie’s. He ends up sobbing my active, and I’m just sitting there wondering what this deck is. Anyways, g1 proceeds how most raging bolt matchess go, I try to prize trade with lopunny, and actually am in a pretty good spot. I hit him with the classic cc iono to 1, ko a latias and rebench a buneary to set up game with lopunny boss on one of his ogerpons. Unfortunately, one of the 2 cards he drew was prime catcher, so he prime catchers my toedscruel and attaches to raging bolt and passes. Both my air balloons are committed, so I have no way to move toedscruel, and next turn he kos it for his last prize.

G2 proceeds pretty similarly – he goes 2-3 in the prize trade, and I go 2-2, and I Iono him to 1. His only draw is mew, and he needs to get boss to ko one of my single prizers with a fully loaded sandy shocks. He whiffs, and I boss mew and ko with zoroark.  We didn’t have time for g3 to conclude. He had been playing a little slow in g2, and seeing that I was in a decent position with an iono check, I felt that if I closed g2, the less time left for g3 would be advantageous to me in a bad match up. So, I didn’t rush him and let him take his time, and we ended up drawing. I felt good about turning another bad match up into at least a tie, which is important for a deck like zoroark. Also this was a really fun opponent, he repeatedly commented excitedly on my love of purple, and would point at each of my accessories and laugh. We exchange twitters after the game, and I learn he’s the guy who went viral a few months ago for winning a city league as “seto kaiba.”

R11 – Gardevoir/Jellicent WW

I again look up my opponent on limitless, and I see he recently was in assym top cut in Merida on garde/jelli. This is a good match up, but obviously he’s an extremely good player so I know it’ll be a tough game. G1 was really intricate. He committed early onto a frillish shuffle game plan to set up a big devo play, and I realize this probably means he is not playing mega diancie. He’s moving a lot of damage each turn, and I make a big early error by discarding munki off of a trade, and my second one is prized and I can’t recover it under perpetual item lock. But eventually I’m able to get a boss onto garde and ko it, and that relieves some pressure as hes not able to reestablish it for a turn. He still maintains item lock, so I can’t picnic basket to heal my board, but I am able to weave a turo in to clear some damage and bench a zorua. I rarely commit to 4 zoroarks, but I did this game and it helped spread the damage and delay the devo play. He eventually gets a devo play to clear 3 zoros, leaving me with one zoroark to close the game out. I am able to boss garde to ko it that turn, and crucially the devo meant I was not oceanic gloomed for what felt like the first time in forever, so im able to pal pad a turo and boss back into my deck. He then ccs my reshiram to stall, but I draw turo and am able to take my last prize.

G2 I have a much stronger start, and he’s not able to establish a strong board. Eventually, I just run him off the board.

R12 – Mega Absol Box LL

Here, I pair into Lucas Xing, so I know it’s going to be a match up against absol/kangaskhan. Another opponent with a top cut this year! G1 he starts precious trolley going first, and then proceeds to run me over, his first two claw of darknesses get super rod and pal pad, and eventually I just do not have the resources to play the game so I scoop. G2, he chuckles when he sees his hand so I wonder if it’s a brick, but no, he drops the precious trolley again and I’m left really wondering what deal with the devil these absol players have made. I play this game better than g1 and establish a triple zoro board and only bench reshiram to attack when my hand is full of bad cards. We trade prizes back and forth, but when he’s on 2 prizes and I’m on 1 he pennies his last munki out of play, leaving me with an absol and kang to go through. He’s able to use another penny to avoid a 2hko and eventually wins with an eswitch pecharunt play. I can’t complain too much about this game; I got thoroughly outplayed by a really top player even though the matchup is not bad for me at all.

R13 – Grimmsnarl/Froslass LL

I feel like my lack of practice at the top-end of this match-up really hurt me this tournament. Both games were pretty close, but eventually he just overwhelms my board with damage and even the picnic basket is not enough to save me. I again question some of my picnic basket timing, but sometimes I just feel like the damage accumulates too quickly. Also, he was playing a grimm build with 4 luminous energy and a moltres, so I am repeatedly being hit with mind bend which stretches my pivoting resources and I’m not able to chain kos on froslass as effectively. A pretty disappointing 2-0 loss in this set.

R14 – Dragapult/Charizard WW

I’m not feeling too great at this point – I thought I got off to a really strong 6-1-2 this tournament, but here I was at 7-3-3, one loss away from equaling my Toronto record from a much stronger start. Anyways, I get to my table and everyone around us is discussing ID-ing to guarantee top 256, and I float the idea to my opponent and he respectfully declines. In retrospect I’m glad he did, because ID-ing at that point would feel anticlimactic even if it did guarantee top 256.

Anyways, this pultzard match up is a bit more difficult than the earlier one, because he does not bench lock himself out of munki. I’m forced to play it a bit differently, so I focus on utilizing my damage counters to eventually ko both his zard and charmeleon, so cutting off his access to a Charizard for the endgame. I’m at 3 prizes, and he phantom dives my damaged zoroark to go down to one prize. At this point, he just needs boss to win, and he has two drakloaks on board. I’m able to pal pad two bosses orders into my thin deck, and hit him with a cc iono, and ko one of his drakloaks. He has one top deck and one recon directive to hit boss, and whiffs. Next turn, I boss his last drakloak, ko it, leaving him only with a top deck to get boss. He whiffs, and then I boss munki and take my last prize. This was a pretty scary situation, but his deck was still pretty large at this point so it was a decent enough check. But you never can feel fully comfortable with these kind of checks.

G2 is pretty much a wash. I have a meh start, I open cleffa, bench buneary, and attach pass. He opens budew, ultra balls for Charmander, and then passes, showing an even worse start. I top deck lillie’s, but I also have double boss and lopunny in hand, so I decide to just evolve my buneary and boss ko Charmander. He draws for turn, and then shows me his hand, which is something egregious like double rare candy, super rod, air balloon, defiance band or something like that. I donk his lone budew and take the win.

--

I end 8-3-3, which overall I felt pretty good about and is obviously my best finish so far out of my three majors. But I do wish I was able to capitalize on my relatively strong start, and close out with an even better finish. But I am happy with my run, and overall, I think I played some really good games this weekend and played against some pretty strong players. I learned a lot from these games and definitely came away wishing I had more practice at the top end for certain match ups, especially Grimmsnarl and Absol box. I was happy with how I was able to convert some pretty bad match ups into ties and navigate close matchups with good play to bring home wins. Overall, I think my tournament run was pretty representative of the zoroark deck as a whole: you really do have to earn your wins through good play, and your losses are usually punishment for micro-misplays that come to bite you in the end.

Saturday, February 28, 2026

molerator @ seattle


I did not make phase 2 at Seattle, losing in R7 and then tying a meaningless game in R8. I'm typing this on my hotel roommate's laptop off a few beers, so don't expect any of the nice Pokemon icons and decklist graphics until I get to my computer next week. What you can expect is salt, accountability, horrifying matchups and some miscellaneous chatter. Maybe I'll come back and edit this later.


Star Grunt, 2nd Luxcape were edits to tackle Zard, Absol, Grimm.

Some words about preparation I haven't written yet. 
Leading up to this tournament logically I wanted to play Gardevoir. I'd been playing it to locals all month, it's position seemed decent and the power level high. Pidgeot on the other hand, was basically untestable on ladder because of all the ASC stuff, and the Absol matchup was not great in theory because of their watchtower and hand control. One slight problem - I dislike playing Gardevoir! I grumbled through basically every step of practicing the purple deck (worst lobotomy ever) and finally bailed on Tuesday (way too late) to tinker with my Pidgeot list instead. Star Grunt was a natural inclusion to try and get some more chances into Absol and Grimm, the main shifts from the Toronto meta I disliked, and the second Luxcape to give Turt more sticking power was an easy change too. Mesagoza is Pidgeot 50% of the time while Artazon is Pidgeot 0% of the time. I thought about a Frillish for Dengo + general annoyance for all of Wednesday Thursday and Friday but didn't open RK9 a single time because I didn't want to cut a stretcher or a Cipher. I woke up on Saturday morning at 5 am and thought about it one more time then went back to sleep. Work in progress!

Assorted Seattle Travel Section I will fill out later. 
I arrived in the city on Thursday night, got dinner and hung out with a normie friend I hadn't seen in a few years, then went to sleep without thinking too much about Pokemon besides answering her boilerplate questions about how the game and tournaments work. This city is fine if extremely overpriced, would visit, wouldn't live here. Hills suck, sky is super gray. Had ramen, xiaolongbao, pho, and stuff from a bakery. Also a sandwich, hotpot, tonkatsu, and a boba like yogurt drink. I also walked around a sculpture garden I liked and went to look at gum on walls which is highkey gross but visually cool.

Round 1
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/solrock.png

Dengo WLW
I do a quick search for my opponent's name and actually find an extremely scary Joltik list from Vegas with switch, tool scrapper + prime catcher, Iron Leaves. Luckily he isn't playing that. Solrock flips over and Dengo gameplay ensues. Both rocks are Turo'd out of play quickly and discarded, but I manage to catch Mega Mawile and it's 2 retreat cost with a flute. Multiple turn play, gust the Mawile and Nacli retreat lock, then transition into Elgyem after I Ruffian off the Air Balloon so the Mawile can never attack or move.
Game 2 I open Feebas pass, get donked by Solrock. Game 3, he whiffs gear and is so unhappy I know his hand is cooked, so I attach to Pidgeot and donk his Solrock when he passes back to me. Fair is fair! If you've read my other posts you'll know that this is actually the first and only time all month I've won Round 1, so at least that's over with.

Round 2

https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/grimmsnarl.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/froslass.png
Grimmsnarl WLT
This matchup is horrible, but not if they don't know how to play it! During Game 1 I use Elgyem, Fans, and gusts to survive double Froslass for long enough to Penny all of my support pokemon out of play and watch his Grimmsnarls and Munkidoris freeze to death. The Froslass with the air balloon ends up with something like 6 dark energy at one point. 
During Game 2 I prize my Star Grunt and am not able to disable Grimmsnarls in one turn, so I take a lot of extra damage. On a critical turn near the end of the game, I have a chance to Penny my Latias out of play with like 160 damage on it, but for some reason decide to wait a turn to get more value or something? Idk. I then get my Penny Iono'd to the bottom and my Pidgeot removed with Devo, and I'm a turn short of being able to clean my board. 
I ask my opponent about a gentleman's agreement before G3 and he says he's not super comfortable in the matchup so would be okay with a tie. I am not super happy about this but don't want to push him at 1-0. After time is called and we go through +3, I'm in a position where I'm going to win if I draw into an energy off Fez to use on my Turtonator or Elgyem, but obviously we can't play out the turn so we tie. Yay.

Round 3
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/charizard.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/noctowl.png
Dawnzard LWW
I open an unplayable hand and Penny my lone Nacli out of play after like 2 turns of not drawing any relevant cards and watching a Dawnzard board develop on the other side of the table.
During the second game I sus out that there's only 1 Jet Energy because of the Waterpon. After the Jet is committed early for some reason I get a Noctowl stuck in the active hitting a fanned Sudowoodo for 60. I pad back 2 Pennys which causes him to concede.
My opponent opts to try to play his Dawnzard deck with no owl pieces during Game 3, which someone also tried on me in Toronto but I think is never going to work. To make matters worse, he prizes his only copy of Pidgeot so finding this single Jet Energy is an actual fanfiction. I use Elgyem to put all the fire energy in his deck on a Duskull because the other Duskull has become a Dusknoir under Psyduck. The venue alarm goes off at some point during this sequence and we pause play even though we probably could've kept playing. Some random walks by and says we should keep playing because it would "suck to tie" but I just ask my opponent for gents instead, and he agrees. At the end of turns I'm 1 turn away from being able to finish deckout with Xerosic Iono, so my opponent, an extremely honorable gentleman, gives me the win because he hasn't used Burning Darkness for 20+ turns and has 5 Fire Energy on a Duskull.

Round 4
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/joltik.png
Joltik Dengo LL
Tournament starts to go in the toilet here but I will do my best to keep you all entertained. My opponent opens Joltik, benches Iron Hands and I am extremely unhappy. The AceSpec in this deck is actually trolley but I choose to Genesect block this anyway to stall setup. I find an energy and kill the Joltik with Sudowoodo to try and stunt his setup, but he topdecks Brock for Latias Joltik and does his Joltik stuff anyway. I Boss Impound the Latias and get Amped after he Turos, then manage to stick him with a Star Grunt + Elgyem combo to disable the Iron Hands. From here I make one huge error which is forgetting the cost of Arm Press. After I've removed both lightning energy from the Iron Hands, this thing obviously cannot attack with one attachment, but somehow an Arm Press goes through and KO's my Pidgeot. At some point in here I either decide not to or forget to Luxcape my Elgyem and it dies to something stupid like Make it Rain for 100. I manage to Elgyem a million irrelevant energy onto his Dengo with an Air Balloon while holding naked Iron Hands in the active with live Milotic, but the stupid Joltik on the bench that I've left a Metal Energy on evolves into Galvantula ex and now I'm going to lose to Iron Leaves + Boss. If I was better I probably could have figured something out with Iono/Xerosic to trim his hand so if he ever draws the Iron Leaves without Boss I can Erika it and win, but I am not very good at the game so I just lose.
I make a fake prize trading attempt in game 2 before I just pack it up and sign the slip.

Round 5
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/solrock.png
Dengo WW
This one was pretty easy, he didn't know what Milotic did. I trap this Lunatone in the active for a while while he's still drawing cards, then Xerosic a huge hand and watch him deck out.
Game 2 I get him with the infamous "Mind Control Kang" manuever which is when I push the Kang to draw cards, then the Dengo player loses their mind and benches Genesect, Solrock, Lunatone + commits their Balloons to try and find the knockout. My Kang goes down, I stick the Genesect in the active, Ruffian off the Air Balloon, then Elgyem every attachment off of it for the rest of the game.

Round 6
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/dragapult.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/charizard.png
Pultzard LWT
I prize my Trolley, can't set up a good enough board, and lose to a Boss candy Zard combo at the end of a quick game.
I set up great this time, Elgyem a million energy onto an ill-advised Budew + flute the board out of a second Charmander so no energy acceleration is coming for the rest of the game, we are trying to see if I don't notice an attachment or something. I float the idea of the gents during Game 2 and am shocked and dismayed when my opponent says he's "down to tie." Why on earth would we ever be "down to tie" at X-1-1? Hello? Do we understand how the tournament works? How match point thresholds work? AHHHHHHHHH.
Anyway I'm cooking him in Game 3 but the clock is my enemy and if my opponent wants to tie we're going to tie. Very cool.

Round 7
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/dragapult.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/charizard.png
Pultzard L
I'll take some accountability for this one and say I should have just won game 1 and then maybe we would be playing on Sunday. My opponent gets all the way down to 2 but I'm taxing his energy the whole way and eventually create a naked Charizard and stick that in the active. My opponent keeps playing though and is doing his recons and draw supporters so I know something is left. I decide it's Turo because that is a card that is good in Pultzard and set up my Milotic and retreat lock the Latias, which I figure should convert since the Pultzard deck can't attack with Latias at all. Instead what happens is I get hit with a hard switch card + Jamming tower to take the last 2. Nice dude, hard switch is a real cool card and super useful in the current metagame. I definitely believe this was worth the deckslot! Realistically what I should've done is just taken the energy off the Pult, either with Ruffian or Elgyem, but I'm a moron and don't deserve match points.
I actually have a pretty good prize attempt in game 2, killing every Charmander with Blustery Wind while I weave in Elgyem and Ruffian to remove Luminous Energy from Drakloaks. I'm a bit too slow though and obviously my attacker isn't good enough to close the game in time when they evolve their board into stage 2s. I'm eliminated. Judge walking by sees my thousand yard stare and asks if I'm okay so I fake a smile and lie.

Round 8
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/charizard.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/charizard-mega-x.png
Charizard + MegaZard WL
This one is honestly a wash because if I was playing for stakes I would have 1-0d this guy but he was cool and clearly having fun so I played pretty fast to give us a chance to finish the second game. This Zard deck has 2 jets, a turo, a mist, 7 fires, 2 super rods, and a tool scrapper, all of which is to say yikes. I take advantage of his inexperience in the matchup during game 1 and Elgyem all the fires away from Zard onto a ChiYu. There's a Tatsugiri on the board too that sits in the active a lot while I slight shift to disarm Charizards. I get my LuxCape on Turtonator tool scrappered at one point which is an insanely annoying card to play against, but I do manage to get rid of all the fires.
Game 2, the board is too thin and the MegaZard is looming the whole game. There's like 5 energies on a Zard Ex and I can't wager the whole game on Tool Scrapper prized, so I try to Iono to stabilize since all 3 boss are down, but he draws into a super rod Fez combo to take his last prize on my benched Elgyem with Cruel Arrow on the last turn of time. This matchup seems really bad with the heavy fire count and much higher damage cap, but if I really didn't want game 2 to finish I could have pumped the brakes. 1-0 manuevers in R8 after elimination against an opponent who was nice to me seemed like bad karma though so I abstained.

The deck was fine. Even though I hit some egregious matchups, if I played like 10% better I could easily have converted a lot of these lost or tied sets. I would like to blame the horrible poisoned Ascended Ladder, KK for Leap Out Curse, and my own general incompetence. In the future, I might be pushing for gents when I sit down a round or two earlier in the tournament because apparently not everyone understands how this stuff works! Next is Houston.

Saturday, February 21, 2026

Operation Two Braincells: Gardevoir Ex is still too hard


Welcome back y'all, I played a league cup today. My preparation for this event was honestly terrible, I played Jelly Gardy on ladder for like 6 hours and went negative, then stayed up super late last night helping Yihao test a terrible pile. I woke up like 30 minutes before I had to leave, started sleeving a PultZard deck, then decided I didn't want to play that and grabbed my Gardy deck from last week and made some approved changes.

     

Drifloon greenlit, 2 charm. Would like another CC but I do not have edit permissions on Gardevoir ex lists.

Round 1 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/venusaur-mega.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/ogerpon.png
Venusaur L
Well, best to get the throwing out of the way early I guess. I think this matchup should be really good with the Drifloon even without LuxCape, but I can't count or sequence so things go sideways at the end. The game goes mostly smoothly, I take 1 on a Bulbasaur with Scream Tail, 2 on an Ogerpon with Gardy, then just have to get through a Venusaur to close out the game. I've been sprinkling damage on his side of the board with Munkidoris and have a bunch of counters banked up on a Fez that was punched by Ogerpon earlier in the game but he gust kos that with a clean Venusaur to take away my counters. On my second to last turn I do some griefing and miss the knockout with a million cards in hand. I have access to 7 purple energy, including 1 stuck on my Gardevoir from Miracle Force, Drifloon + charm and two Munkidoris. What I can do to get to the 380 number is embrace 5 onto Drifloon, move 30, embrace 1 onto Gardex, move 30 (10 left from a previous 40-10), Turo Gardex (I have a second one) embrace the last 2 energies onto Drifloon to get 110 for Balloon Blast 330. What I do instead is embrace a bunch of energy onto Drifloon, realize I'm short, then Iono and hit for 180. The next turn I Iono again after he heals/runs away but somehow use 3 monkeys and don't have a clean 310 Gardevoir to hit with and die to 6 energy Ogerpon. Some really awful gameplay to start the day, deserved 0-1.

Round 2 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/greninja.png
Greninja W
 
My opponent goes first, drops some little guys but misses a water attachment for his Froakie so I'm not under a lot of pressure. I Lillie into TM:evo and ultra ball as well as one copy of Kirlia, so expecting Budew, I ultra ball for Gardevoir to evolve next turn then use the TM to get a Kirlia onto the board. My opponent tries to get around this by evolving into Dusknoir and Pidgeot, blowing up my Ralts, and using TM Devo on my Kirlia, but he has to use his Grand Tree to do this, so I just Lillie my Gardy pieces back into the deck and evolve up this way. With a Gardevoir on the board and some Munkidoris camping down Duskulls it's pretty hard for me to lose. He tries some weird stuff with gust trapping and paralysis flipping but I just Turo and attach my way through it and eventually set up a board where he can't even attack with Greninja without instantly losing the game.

Round 3 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/zoroark.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gengar-mega.png
Zoroark Gengar W
I pair into a senior playing some dark type box, which in theory should be really good for me but I have to sweat like crazy to convert because on my first search I find out both of my Gardevoirs are prized. I start attaching to a Munkidori on the bench to try and take a prize with Mind Bend. I would have preferred to start with a dark because it's less suspicious, but all I have are purples. I don't think he knew the problem I was having, because he plays Secret Box for boss to take out my Kirlia on the bench but dumps his whole hand to do so AND goes in with a Binding Mochi Yveltal that he pinged with Toxtricity + poisoned with Pecharunt. I mind bend and unprize a Gardex. For the rest of the game, the poison and Toxtricity damage causes him to draw zero cards because I can always dodge Fez, and I cruise to a win using my single prizers hitting big numbers.

Round 4 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/absol-mega.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/kangaskhan-mega.png
Absol W
I go first, set up some Ralts and get down a Monkey Dark. They trolley and energize to Absol on their turn, then I evo into double Kirlia with 2 draw supporters in hand. One of my Kirlias gets bossed and clawed but my hand and subsequent draws are good enough to respond with Drifloon 240 onto the Absol. With no darks on the bench I am reasonably confident that I won't get double Adrena Brained + boss on Gardy, and I'm right. They Penny into Kang and try to energize again, so I Iono all their energy to the bottom, spread some damage onto the fresh Absol and hit the Kang for 240. They get some darks down to KO my Drifloon, but can't do this and claw, so on my turn I CC up the Absol and Mew copy Claw to take 3 and rip a boss out of their hand. The heavily damaged Kang comes back into the active, gets healed a bit with ice cream and monkeys but is promptly blown up anyway by Drifloon for a clean 3-3 prize map. Time to ID into cut!

Round 5 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/slowking.png
Slowking W
Or I thought so, anyway. My opponent has suspect resistance and a homie ID in an earlier round has caused a possible bubble at 3-1-1. I'm down to send the ID and see what happens but he wants to play so we shuffle up and start our game while everyone else is circling tie and making plans to get food. I get cleanly into a Gardevoir while being item locked because I draw into Kirlia evo off a supporter. I've been attaching to the Fez I started this whole time to threaten Cruel Arrow on Slowpokes and charm the Munkidoris I bench to stay out of Kyurem range, so his first Slowking attack is Haxorus to KO Fez. No Cruel Arrow today, sad. I respond with Iono to 4 and Mind Bend to threaten KO on both Slowkings the next turn. He actually flips heads and uses Kyurem to KO a Kirlia, but I am super happy to absorb 220 damage onto my board to send back at my leisure. I wipe both Slowkings with Adrena Brain and CC Miracle Force, but my Scream Tail is still prized so I can't chase the next Slowpoke and get Budewed. I take the Budew with another monkey trigger, unprize my Scream Tail, snipe the Slowpoke and go to 2 while loading more counters onto his Fez, creating a checkmate board.

Top 8 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/raging-bolt.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/joltik.png
Boltik LWW
I eat one of the steamed buns I packed for the day (is it ego to expect a long day including top cut?) and shake hands with my opponent. Going first he Squawks a hand with some Raging Bolt looking stuff but then benches a Miraidon and gets Joltik + Hands, revealing Boltik. I evo into Kirlias and then Gardevoir while he's doing his Joltik stuff, but am struggling to discard energies. I get the first hit but the best I can do is Munki KO Joltik + punch Miraidon for 140 with Clefairy. Maybe Scream Tail Punch Hands would have been better? He gusts twice to go down to 2, then we kind of sit around while I Iono him low and set up prizes for later before he finally manages to find a Sada for game. I feel like I could have played this better but idk.

I go second again, this time I have no energy issues and KO Hands with Drifloon, KO Bolt with Clefairy, then Scream Tail a bench sitter for game. 

We start game 3 with very little time which I am extremely aware of. I go first, bench some Ralts and Munkidoris, but he misses energy for Jolting Charge, so I evolve into Gardevoir and wait. I respond to his Jolting Charge with Charm Frillish - he's lost so much energy from his Squawk or has it in hand so he can only load 3 on Hands. All he can manage on his last turn is an Arm Press 160 KO  so I just CC his Squawk and KO it with Gardy to take the lead in time. I celebrate by eating my other baozi.

Top 4 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/solrock.png
Dengo WW
My opponent gets off to a slow start and is only in the game due to my donated Artazon, but what this means is he's very low on Gimmighouls. I try to take advantage of this with a quick Scream Tail KO but he's able to boss and KO my Gardy as well as a picnic basket to neutralize Tail. A few problems with this play - he attaches the VitBand to Dengo, he discards his super rod with Secret Box, he's board locked out of Mawile, and there's 8 energy in the discard pile with 3 metals showing. I charm my Frillish and start announcing Oceanic Gloom over and over. He's able to get a KO on my Kirlia but I set up the Gardevoir again over a few turns to thwart attempts to break item lock with Boss, and now there are 10 energy in the discard pile. I ask if he plays Lana or a non item way to get energies back and he concedes.

Game 2 I go first and get down some Ralts and a Munkidori. I think I have decent odds to get Candy Gardy the next turn, but he looks sadly at his hand and plays Turo on his lone Gimmighoul. On to finals! 

Finals
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/charizard.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/noctowl.png
Dawnzard LL
Game 1 was pretty weird. I win the flip and choose first, gettting down a Ralts behind a Munkidori start. My opponent opens the Klefki so has to play his Prime Catcher to unlock Fan Rotom. Unfortunately the Ralts I grabbed was with Artazon and he actually has the energy in hand to take the knockout so I am pretty far behind. I go back in my deck with Artazon and find out that I've prized my other 2 Ralts and my Frillish so I can't Iono item lock like I want to. Luckily I do find a stretcher off Iono and rebench my Ralts, then mind bend his Fan Rotom. He takes a KO on my Munki with Charizard, and I respond with Secret Box into Candy Gardy Mind Bend. Jet is prized on his end so he can't actually Jet Boss my Gardy and settles for flipping on the Munkidori (heads). I Mew his Zard, he uses Terapagos to go down to 1, and I can't find a way to prevent him from winning while progressing since all my charmed attackers I can use to remove his Terapagos will die to Joust. Is it right to keep Clefairy around for this case?

I go first again and get down some guys while refusing to donate my Artazon. He misses Charmander which is great for me and he Sobs my active Scream Tail after I use it to evo into Kirlias. Not complaning about donated damage. I decide that I can take it slow because he's behind and hit his Dusclops for 80 forcing him to evolve into Dusknoir and pop it on my Munkidori. The Dawn he gets off the prizes finds some basics and a Pidgeotto and he sobs my Scream Tail again. I've been holding a few Ionos the whole game and refuse to play them because his hand is obviously dead, so he decides not to grab Pidgeot because I would instantly Iono that to the bottom. I think I make a mistake here when I decide to hit his Wellspring for 120 to try and set it up for later, but I should be allowed to snipe off the Pidgeotto without too much danger. He topdecks Pidgeot and starts to put on pressure with Prime Catcher Gardy. I mind bend the Zard, he jets out of confusion and KOs. On my last turn I have an Iono in my hand but also a Gardevoir and some Arvens, I think I was maybe just supposed to Iono and hope to hit candy Gardy off draw + Fez, but I try and Fez into one of my two candies, miss, then feel forced to play Arven (should still maybe Iono) to KO his Zard with Mew and use Adrena Brain to set up win for the next turn. He shows me stretcher + super rod to get Charizard and the energy back and I concede. 

I congratulate my opponent, we chat a bit about the season, then I catch the bus home, which takes forever with like a 15 minute delay. +40? I guess it's +8 or something idk. As always, thanks for reading!


Thursday, February 19, 2026

Funslop: Exploding Energy, Burrito



I make my way up to Evanston on the purple line to obtain a burrito from Tomate Fresh Kitchen and play a funny deck at a Thursday night league challenge. I get off the train at Noyes, pick up two burritos - Carnitas for me, Carne Asada for him - and get in my friend's car for a quick drive down to the shop.

 

Many cards were picked up and read tonight, including but not limited to Acerola, Forretress, Pokevital, Crisis Punch, and Therapeutic Energy. 

Round 1
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/solrock.png

Dengo L
I instantly pair into my friend I got dinner with, who knows what I'm up to tonight. He starts Solrock and I know I'm not allowed to bench a Pineco until I can find Forest to instantly evolve + pop it, so I don't get to attack until he's gotten through my first Kang. Luckily my hand that was slow to set up Forretress is full of Acerolas so I play it 4 turns in a row to stop him from finishing the game. Unfortunately for me I am not flipping heads on Rapid Fire Combo AND I've prized my Crisis Punch in the last 2 so I can't actually win the game without double heads on this next turn. I Iono to 1, CC a Dengo without energy, and flip 1 heads for 250. He draws 500 cards and finds the knockout because of course he does.

Round 2
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/solrock.png

Dengo W
I pair into another Dengo and manage to get into a quick Forretress with an early Cipher for Forest. She drops a Watchtower and knocks out my first Kang, but when I play Acerola on my turn and punch her Dengo, I can tell she doesn't know what the card does, as she's digging for cards and playing superiors to line up a knockout. Out of the goodness of my heart I stop her from discarding energy before she declares an attack, explaining what's going on. The end of this game is kind of awkward because I'm not drawing into a stadium and can't play any supporter except Acerola. On my last turn my multiple pokegears are unable to find an Acerola to continue my loop or a Cipher to get to crisis punch so I Iono to 1 + CC her Fez and flip heads.

R3 
flareonnoctowl
Flareon L
I feel like I must have messed this game up because I don't think this matchup is as unwinnable as this game felt. Classic Eevee start on the other side, Fan Rotom for Pidgey, Eevee, Noctowl, no attachment. I think from this board I'm allowed to bench a Pineco because I don't know how likely Boss + attack or Wellspring are from a board with no energy or Tera, but I am a tiny little baby and decide I'm going to wait for the Forest combo instead. On the next turn my active Kang gets punched for 130 and I still don't have the combo but with a Pidgeot and a live Flareon I'm definitely not allowed to bench the Pineco so I have to wait another turn. They commit to Carnelian to knockout my active. I finally have the combo but I have to Cipher for it so I can't Acerola or Iono. I do make a mistake where I Cipher for a Watchtower to drop on the next turn since I only need one combo piece, but if I get Bravery Charm to attach active I can't lose to Jet Black Belt which of course is exactly what's in his hand. I feel like this matchup has to be insanely free if I get to go first, but maybe I should work on utilizing that second braincell instead.

Edit: Realized I can probably just crisis punch the Flareon and they should never be able to break my Kang lol.

Next to me I watch Sky put a frustrated Eevees player in the chamber with Pidgeot. Nice! 

R4 
slakingdusknoir
Slaking W
My opponent flips over a Fan Rotom but his grabs off Fan Call are Slakoth Slakoth Farfetch'd which is definitely not what I was expecting. He uses Colress to get Triple Accel (which I think is weird) and Watchtower then TM:evos into double Vigoroth. On my side I'm holding a stadium bump and immediately pop my Forretress to thin energy out of the deck onto my board then Kang draw 2 into a Boss to knockout one of his Vigoroths. He evolves his remaining Vigoroth into Slaking but doesn't find a useful energy this turn (might have been expecting to use Reversal) so is only able to hit my Kang for 20 with Reversal Energy Farfetch'd, which I heal off with Ice Cream to stay out of Slaking range. I boss his Slaking and smack it for 200, he runs away to hit me with Jet Fan Rotom and Ionos me + drops another Watchtower. I bump this with a Forest, then CC his Slaking back and Iono him before taking the knockout. He recovers a Slakoth, which I boss and knockout again. This whole time he's been developing a Dusknoir on his bench - he pops into my active and hits for 70 with Fan Rotom. I dig for my last boss with triple gear but whiff so I cipher both Pokevital A and Ice Cream into my hand and negate his entire turn, then flip heads on his active Fez anyway.

This deck is kind of fun for an obvious meme, I played it kind of poorly but I could definitely see myself playing this to another challenge this format with some changes. I don't think Pokevital A is correct, Miracle Headset seems broken in the absence of a Pal Pad to prolong the Acerola chain. I also am not really sure what this bravery charm is for, a second Crisis Punch or a Petrel/Town Store could be nice to naturally draw into the TM without Cipher or play it multiple times to not have to flip against Dengo or other 2 prize beatsticks. If you made it this far, thanks for reading! Don't play this deck to anything you care about!

Content Drought: Perfect (Not) Prerelease

Hi everyone I didn't play any locals this week BUT I did go to a Perfect Order prerelease yesterday and more than one person asked me to...