Sunday, March 15, 2026

Content Drought: Perfect (Not) Prerelease

Hi everyone I didn't play any locals this week BUT I did go to a Perfect Order prerelease yesterday and more than one person asked me to write a tournament report so here I am.

I arrive at my favorite store GG around 10:50 and chat with my locals a bit before the event. I'm amazed at the amount of people that are legitimately metagaming the precon decks and talking about how badly they need Pokepads. Is it that serious? I also swap a medium size box of loose packs I've won from tournaments over the past year for a couple 2010 cards I need for my second(!) copy of LuxChomp. First win of the day :)

Me and the 12 other Barbaracle fans (from the Poll) : r/pokemon 

Kits are passed out and opened. I get Barbaracle but open pretty much nothing relevant from my packs so I guess I'm playing the precon! I look at the Hawlucha for a few seconds, decide it's pretty bad, check the trainer cards I got out of my packs, think Lumiose City is fine enough, then put my 40 cards in some terrible etb sleeves and sit there giving my friends bad deckbuilding advice for the remaining 20 minutes.


It was honestly more effort than I thought it would be to make this decklist because I couldn't paste from anywhere. I'm not doing sprites because that sounds similarly annoying.

R1 Barbaracle W

I lose the flip and go second. My opponent flips over a Landorus which I think is probably the best starter in the Barbaracle deck even though Binacle's double draw attack isn't bad either. He attaches active and puts down a Binacle then passes over to me. I have a Hilda and a Lillie, but enough search in hand to get down my own Binacle and Landorus to back up my active Binacle so I play the Hilda to get a Barbaracle for next turn and pull out one of these Rocky energies. I attach active and use Double Draw. This is apparently a mistake because my opponent attaches to his active again and then plays a PPP to knock out my Binacle, taking the attachment with it. I push my own Landorus, attach to it + Barbaracle accel to it, then smack him for 50 knowing I'm definitely going to die. Think I get another Binacle down and play another Hilda for a Barb and the other copy of Rocky this turn so I can attack next turn with a Barb. Another energy comes down and I get KO'd by Landorus's Screw Knuckle. I push Barbaracle, attach + accel twice to it, and KO the Landorus. From this spot I think I'm basically never supposed to win, but luckily my opponent has decided to make his deck terrible by replacing a bunch of fighting energy with dark energy and putting in a copy of Yveltal Ex as well as a 1-1 Dartrix(?) line. 3 attachments have ended up on this Dartrix but after I use Tarragon to get my guys back and power up another Landorus to KO it he literally has no more energy in his entire deck. I hit him 2 more times and win the game.

R2 Doublade L

This one is pretty boring, I play a Hilda as my first and last supporter then get hit with the sword 4 times with no hand disruption in my deck. I use Lumiose City 3 times in a row and lose the game.

R3 Doublade W

My Pokedad opponent flips over a Klefki to face off against my Binacle. I get some guys down, miss my energy attachment, and pass. He has nothing so he attaches an energy active and uses the memory lock attack to deny me double draw. I play a Lillie and get into some energy and Barbaracles and pass back. He topdecks a supporter (Lacey yuck), draws into a poffin, gets some baby swords down and memory locks my second attack. My position is really awkward because I don't want to commit a bunch of energy to Barb, die to sword attack, and be unable to answer a Doublade with Landorus, but I don't really have anything else to do so I take the knockout on Klefki. On his turn he somehow Lillies into not enough guys to knock me out, so I get to hit his active for free, then clean it up the next turn with PPP even after it evolves into Aegislash with the help of Gravity Mountain. He does respond with a Doublade but I just power up another Landorus and finish the game.

After the game he asks me some questions about competing and I do my best to explain how stuff works even though I am a peabrain. His kids come over and ask to trade so I hand them my binder and make sure they don't scam themselves. I gather up my friends who wanted to lunch and we head toward a Chinese restaurant I like but apparently no one bothered to check their times so we arrive at a closed storefront. Luckily there's a good Mexican place across the street so I go there and happily scarf down a burrito. Spicy Chinese food another time. Thanks for reading if you made it this far! Remembering and writing about games I didn't really care about was kind of hard so I appreciate the support. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Content Drought: Perfect (Not) Prerelease

Hi everyone I didn't play any locals this week BUT I did go to a Perfect Order prerelease yesterday and more than one person asked me to...