Saturday, March 7, 2026

Froslass IRL: Spikemuth


Me playing Grimmsnarl after the unkind words I've said about this deck

I wake up like 10 minutes before I leave (which was a great pumpfake by Google Maps btw, the train dumps me at this shop 30m before start time) and check on the Gardy deck I thought I was going to play. Luckily for me the sleeves are getting a bit worn and I don't want to try and speedrun a resleeve so I grab my somehow still sleeved Grimmsnarl deck, update it to what my friend Yihao played at Seattle, and bring that.


 
Never used bundle, eswitch would've been nice. Flap has a new list I would've played if I had pads. 

Round 1 
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/dragapult.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/dusknoir.png

Pultnoir W
My opponent flips over Bloodmoon and doesn't get out of it. I set up double Grimm double Munki with a Froslass and run him over. Round 1 issues in the rearview, maybe?

Round 2
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/joltik.pngiron-thorns
Joltik Heracross Thorns? W - I literally could not find an icon for Heracross on Limitless
My opponent doesn't play a supporter, then jolting charges to a Mega Heracross? I have to read this thing. If I take a KO then I die to grass weakness nice and it also mills cards if I let it swing freely. I feed him a Munki then promote my Imp. I'm holding Lillie + Candy with a live Spikemuth, and I really really really want to candy Grimm + evolve Morgrem, but I miss Morgrem off the Lillie, probably not that likely to hit but I'm bit scared of my Grimm dying then missing an attack the next turn. I punch the Heracross + take out the Joltik since I'm pretty sure there's a Galvantula in there somewhere. My opponent is apparently super scared of the potential of a second candy, because he hard switches (lol) his Heracross into an Iron Thorns and passes back to me. I take advantage of his kindness by evolving into Morgrem on the bench and evolving some Froslasses to make a huge turn on my next Grimm attack. Shadow Bullet into Thorns + 30 to a random Electrike on the bench I'm pretty sure is never going to matter. The next turn I get knocked out by Iron Leaves, but since I have a Morgrem on the bench and 2 Froslasses I get the 4 prizes off Thorns and the Leaves at the same time. Heracross comes back in the active, KOs my Grimm, and I Bloodmoon him for game. Also could have just pinged down the Electrike.

Round 3
lucario-megahariyama
 
Lucario W
Even though I start Imp + Spikemuth Imp pass, my opponent is doing nothing, so I candy into Grimm and boss his lone Riolu. I take another KO on a Lunatone, then he finally evolves into Lucario and hits me with Max Belted Aura Jab for 180. I move some damage over to his side and punch the Lucario + evolve my benched Imp into Morgrem, but for some reason my Secret Box stadium grab is not Spikemuth because I'm worried about my opponent topdecking Iono? He topdecks a Lillie, draws 8, then Lunatone draws into a stadium and KOs my active Grimm. Disaster! Luckily I can just go back to my single prizers and Budew him for a few turns and spread until I can get a Morgrem to stick after a few Hariyama triggers, then take my last four with a new Grimmsnarl on the damaged Lucario and the Lunatone I've been pinging.

Round 4 (Pidgeot Control) ID
I pair Sky on a Pidgeot list I gave her and tell her I am going to put 5 energies on my Grimmsnarl while we wait for match slips, then I circle tie and we watch the other games.

Round 5 ID
My opponent is scared about the ID for some reason but once I explain to her I'm 3-0-1 and she should be safe at 3-1-1 she takes the tie. Not really sure what was going on there but I manage to get Grimmsnarl into cut. 

Top 8
https://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/gholdengo.pnghttps://r2.limitlesstcg.net/pokemon/gen9/joltik.png 
Jengo LL
I pair the only matchup in the entire bracket I don't really want to see, since it has this really annoying Iron Hands card and an even more annoying Galvantula card. Obviously since I've been drawing acceptably all day it is time to brick. My first hand is actually not that bad, with Spikemuth, Boss Candy but what it's missing is a second supporter to do anything after. The Iron Hands gets charged up and I get to boss + punch it + knockout the benched Joltik with candy Grimm, but I've also prized my other 2 Imps so I have literally no way to do anything after this. Hands comes in the active and takes 2 on my benched Munkidori with a counter catcher (annoying) but this turns on my CC so I try to check him on a switch effect and stack 30 more on the Hands bringing it up to 210. I should mention that this entire time I've been Artazoning for a new little guy (Snorunt, Munkidori) every single turn but I have yet to draw anything useful from my deck. If a Froslass had gone up at any point during this sequence I can definitely win the game but instead my Grimm goes down to hard switch (lol) Dengo, I shove Tatsu, finally find an Iono and Budew, but a boss on one of my bench sitters breaks the item lock and I lose the game.

I go second again and bench all the basics I want, Imp Imp Munki Munki Snorunt Snorunt but play zero supporters for 3 turns, then finally topdeck secret box which is actually really annoying because I have been putting Grimm pieces in my hand while I'm doing nothing so now I have to feed them all to the box. Box for stretcher (since I prized a Grimm and discard the one in my hand) Iono Artazon Air Balloon and Artazon? My board actually becomes quite good once I get into double Froslass double Munki and start shredding his board but the Galvantula comes out and gets my Grimm, then I have to Bloodmoon the Hands and lose to Dengo since I had to box earlier and my Arven cannot get Box for Iono. Pokemon Trading Card Game.

Grimm is mid but I liked playing it a lot better than the last time I did. I think if I had drawn slightly better and gotten through this Jengo the rest of the bracket looked pretty good but c'est la vie. This one feels like not really my fault idk.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Content Drought: Perfect (Not) Prerelease

Hi everyone I didn't play any locals this week BUT I did go to a Perfect Order prerelease yesterday and more than one person asked me to...