Doing some more writing because I think it's good for my brain.
I
played in a challenge on Thursday after not playing since Toronto.
Naturally, I sent this very difficult Thorns Crustle list I got from
Blitzle.
Yeah.
Between
you and me, I only went to this challenge so I could eat at my favorite
burrito place from college, Tomate Fresh Kitchen. I don't have any points to play for at
challenges for the rest of the season. I pick up my burrito (tilapia with pineapple mojo) and one shot
it in the lobby while waiting for the tournament to start.
Round 1
Dawnzard W
I
win the flip and go second. Pretty sure this was my opponent's first
ever irl game, and he gets crazy unlucky prizing double Charizard,
triple Noctowl. I hit him with Thorns like 4 times and win in 5 minutes.
He asks to play again, and I set up two Crustles and win. I did warn
him that this is not a fun matchup AND I tried to get a different deck
from a friend but no one had a loaner.
Round 2
Dawnzard W
I
open Dwebble, slam a watchtower and ascend into Crustle. Of course this
gets instantly bumped by a raw Area Zero, but whatever. I'm not able to
make another Crustle throughout the game because every Dwebble I bench
gets gusted or Cursed Blasted, but I gust the ghosts enough times and
this Dawnzard deck doesn't play much recovery so my solo Crustle is
relatively safe thanks to some ice cream.
Round 3
Gholdengo L
I
open a Dwebble and ascend. My opponent sacks me with a very fast
Buneary attach into Lopunny Spiky Hopper. I'm working on setting up a
second Crustle while healing my active with ice cream when I learn I've
prized my second and third copies, which is really unfortunate because
I'm holding the full Forest combo to instantly make a new one. My
Crustle gets knocked out and I'm not going to be able to attack again
for the rest of the game, so I concede.
Round 4
Pultnoir W
My
opponent grumbles about Crustle but then starts attaching to his
Duskull/Dusclops, so I don't know why he was whining. I make two
Crustles but am slow on energy, so he tries to buy time by gusting my
benched one and putting down a Jamming Tower. I don't play Air Balloon
so this doesn't matter and just wastes a tower since I have a bump in
hand. Eventually he gets into Dusknoir to handle my first Crustle, but
has to use his last Jamming Tower to do so. I Morty into my secret box
to find another stadium then outtrade him with my second Crustle. I
think he prized a bunch of energy.
3-1, another t4 for the collection. It's pretty funny that you actually read about Crustle gameplay.
Another
challenge at my favorite LGS on Sunday, I considered Crustle but build
Grimmsnarl because I miss playing Froslass stuff idk. Promises of food
after the tournament get me out of my bed at 10 am and I make my way to
Good Games.
Flapixty?
Do
not play this deck, it sucks fr. Thought about not writing anything and
just doing a Grimmsnarl slander segment but words are words are words.
Recaps (salty) below:
Round 1
Pultnoir W
Round 2

Slowking L
T2 Kyurem, Iono to 3, Kyurem. Pokemon trading card game.
Round 3
Pultnoir L
Iono to 2, remove all energy from board. Neo Upper off one recon. Pokemon trading card game.
Round 4
Raging Bolt L
Filch 5x. Pokemon trading card game.
Round 5
Pultnoir W
Deck finally shows up to work, 2 Froslass 2 Munki 2 Grimmsnarl by turn 3. BDIF?
As
I'm busy 2-3 bombing the challenge Grimmsnarl gets two players into cut
and wins Merida. I complain about variance and go to Pequods for dinner
with my friends for an overall decent day. Did I learn anything? Not
really, I knew Grimmsnarl is a pile of cards pretending to be a deck
already, but at least now I know I am never playing this deck again.
There's 2 cups next month I wouldn't mind winning so I probably need to
lock in on the deckbuilder and the ladder unless I want to play
Gardevoir again. If you made it this far thanks for reading!


No comments:
Post a Comment