Welcome back, dear reader. More writing, exercising my two brain cells. Played a cup and a challenge at Dice Dojo and Good Games.
Absol, double Yveltal, Genesect for prime. Works sometimes. Xerosic was mostly useless.
https://x.com/SleeperWizards/status/2019867285448716790?s=20https://x.com/SleeperWizards/status/2019867285448716790?s=20
I had known about this league cup for a while but my ladder practice
since Ascended Heroes appeared to poison the ladder had been generally
tilting. Probably supposed to play Gardevoir (maybe even Flutter
Mane) if I wanted to win but was just really not enjoying playing the
purple deck. I played a decent amount of Absol games with a heavy
retreat lock list and had the most fun with that so I just sleeved and
sent it.
Round 1


Charizard Pidgeot L
The game starts slowly as he misses supporter off Tatsugiri and I whiff energy off my Kang to turbo energize with. Once I start swinging I chase down his Pidgeotto and rip resources out of his hand but he eventually creates a mist energy Hero's Cape Charizard that I can't Terminal Period. I give up a bunch of prizes and eventually try to catch him in a Yveltal trap looking for one of jet energy (no Pidgeot in play) after I hit Turo with Claw. It doesn't work, he draws it off a Lillie. I'd have to have more detailed record of handrip decisions to diagnose where I went wrong in this one. Tough loss but I think my opponent played better than me in this one so hard to complain.
Round 2


Dawnzard W
His opening hand isn't strong enough to sustain multiple Charizards through Absol attacks and I roll him. I take my last 2 on a Zard with Terminal period. In the win column!
Round 3




I prize my Trolley but still manage to energize to an Absol + bench Psyduck. I respond to the Lopunny with Claw and find a one supporter hand (Lillie). He dead draws the rest of the way as I claw him over and over.
Round 4



My opponent is playing no blue guys and I end up with massive monkey advantage. I boss and claw KO the loaded Morpeko on the bench and find the other copy of Morpeko in the hand. With no OHKO threat on my Absol the rest of the game is a formality. Claw. Claw. Claw.
Round 5



I start an ambiguous opener (Latias) and my opponent seems to think I'm on Pidgeot Control so he declines to Squawkabilly even though his hand is weak. I get him in Yveltal lock and eventually convert the board back into a favorable prize trade after many turns of Clutch. The amount of gust you need if your opponent refuses to donate you damage by attacking into the Yveltal is very high sometimes.
Round 6
ID
ID
I'm pretty sure my opponent is on Venusaur and I do not want to play so I offer the ID. He accepts and we're into cut at 4-1-1.
Top 8


I topdeck trolley and set up. My opponent misses Drakloak a few times and I run him off the board with Absol.
Game 2 my board is much weaker but I manage to get into Absol and start swinging. At the end of the game I flip 2 heads on Kang and hit his Dragapult for 300, then use Munkidori to clean it up and pull a Boss off my prizes (2/3) to close the game.
Top 4

Raging Bolt LL 

Dawnzard L


Raging Bolt LL
I draw very slowly to start and end up down so many prizes my only line is Clutch. I must have messed this board up because I held the lock for many many turns and was about to convert when I was hit with Sandy Shocks + stadium bump to recover the committed fighting energies. At least 2 mistakes here: I think I could have avoided going to 4 prizes (Sandy Shocks ability) and tried to take 5 at once, and then if I was going to go to 3 I should have played Iono because the combo my opponent used to win was several cards (Artazon, Sada, stretcher.)
Game 2 I get hit with the deserved divine punish, prizing both my Yveltal and losing the prize race. I think I should have knocked out green Ogerpon instead of Hoothoot on one of my aggressive Claw turns to draw more prizes, pushing the pace of the game or finding my Yveltals. Alas.
I watch my friend get annihilated by Gardevoir in finals in like 10 minutes. We go to a Taqueria Uptown, a Mexican restaurant across the street and I eat a delicious enchilada while I mald about being bad at the game.
Don't think that hard about the list, it's Alakazam. Lt. Surge haha.
I
wake up the next morning for a late league challenge (noon!) I sleeve
up the Alakazam deck I've been wanting to play and catch the train.
Round 1


Dawnzard L
I get unfair stamped, miss a KO on Zard and fall too far behind. I think if I was playing super clean I could have got this one done but lol Alakazam. I start getting tired of using Dudunsparce near the end of this game and realize that I have to do this for 3 hours.
Round 2

Raging Bolt W


Raging Bolt W
My opponent bricks and I blow up their active 2 prizer. Powerful Hand!
Round 3
Great Tusk Mill W
I refuse to draw any cards and just announce Powerful Hand 5 times on a super thin board. Why only 5? Well, when I play Lt. Surge's Bargain at 2 prizes remaining my opponent, a friend, laughs and says yes to the prize card.
Round 4 

Gardevoir Jellicent W


Gardevoir Jellicent W
My opponent wins the flip and picks first? I hit boss KO on lone Gardevoir through item lock then manage to survive a few Ionos to close the game by drawing a million cards and blowing up a Mega Diancie, which conveniently does not have a relevant ability. I do not think this opponent understood the matchup or the deck.
Round 5

Absol Kang L


I play Lt. Surge out of a dead hand but he says yes so my hand remains dead. I brick and lose. We play a second for fun game that is close, but I lose again because I only play 1 enhanced hammer and take too long to find it.
Well, if I didn't already know Alakazam was an unserious deck I sure learned today. Still fun and I would probably play to a league challenge again. I get roped into dinner at Pequods again. Some of my friends are weird about pizza toppings but we come to a good consensus and I carry the team on eating.
If you're reading this thanks for the click but I can't believe you got all the way to the bottom of an Alakazam league challenge report. Maybe you just like my writing?



No comments:
Post a Comment